Kata Rocks
The Phuket News Novosti Phuket Khao Phuket

Login | Create Account | Search

Wolfpack run down Phuket Cricket Group to lift Cricket 7s Cup

Wolfpack run down Phuket Cricket Group to lift Cricket 7s Cup

CRICKET: Western Australian outfit Wolfpack led by Will Badger deservedly lifted the ACST Kata Group International Cricket 7s Cup at the Alan Cooke Ground yesterday (April 11), after overcoming the Phuket Cricket Group (PCG) in the final.

Friday 12 April 2013, 04:32PM

The PCG had earlier defeated both Wolfpack and the CBB’s in two exhilarating finishes, but they had no answer to the batting of Player of the Tournament Jack Joy, who retired on 30, and then Scott Maitland, who closed the game out with two enormous hits as they chased down 59 in the final showdown.

Syed Hussein had earlier retired in his sides’ knock.

The Bowl remained on the paradise island of Phuket as the local Dabangg Boyz overcame the Galah Cricket Club of New South Wales after they posted just 41 after some economical bowling.

The Boyz won with just four balls to spare thanks to a fine innings from Sameer Khan. who was crowned Player of the Final.

La Boucherie

Play had gone ahead an hour earlier owing to the previous days rain, but thankfully the cricketing-weather god’s were shining down on the ACG for the Finals Day.

The Player of the Day cap awards went to Jeremy Smith of the ACST side, who took 2 for 6 in one over and to Neil Quail of the PCG for a fine all round performance.

ACST Chairman Michael ‘Cat’ Maher awarded the coveted Spirit of Cricket Award to Garry Rowe of the Galah’s for his brilliant attitude both on and off the pitch, which was typified when he donated his playing kit to Pao, a local youngster and guest player.

In closing Mr Maher said “How special it has been to play cricket in Phuket at a world class venue,” as well as thanking the Kata Group and all the other sponsors, and officials who made the tournament possible, before the friendly after play party got under way as the Wolfpack deservedly enjoyed their victory.

comments powered by Disqus