Login | Create Account Poll Currency Weather Facebook Youtube Search

Sweeping changes at top of Starwood

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide has announced a slew of promotions and changes to its leadership.

Thursday 19 April 2012, 10:30AM

The changes follow the decision by three admired senior leaders to retire – Matt Avril, President of the Hotel Group; Denise Coll, President of Starwood North America; and Miguel Ko, Chairman and President of Starwood Asia Pacific.

The planned retirements will take place over the next few months and all of the new leaders are being promoted from within the company.

Mr Avril began his career with Starwood in 1989 and became president of the hotel group in 2008. Under his watch, Starwood’s hotel business experienced its highest ever market share gains.

Ms Coll joined ITT Sheraton (later acquired by Starwood) in 1976. Since 2007, she has led Starwood’s largest region, North America, with more than 500 hotels.

Mr Ko began his career with ITT Sheraton in 1979. During the past decade under his leadership, the company grew in Asia from 75 to over 360 hotels, becoming the largest five-star hotel company in Asia.

Splash Beach Club

In recognition of another vital part of the business, Starwood will also elevate its leadership in China to reflect that country’s great importance for the company.
As part of the organisational changes, presidents of The Americas; Asia Pacific; and Europe, Africa and Middle East; will now report directly to Frits van Paasschen, President and Chief Executive Officer of Starwood.

New appointments effective July 1 include:
- Sergio Rivera, currently president and CEO of Starwood Vacation Ownership, becomes co-president of Starwood Americas.

- Stephen Ho, currently senior vice president of acquisitions and development for Starwood China, has been promoted to president of Asia Pacific. He has been with Starwood for 31 years, having begun his career as a pastry chef.

- Qian Jin, currently head of Starwood’s operations for China, has been promoted to the title of president of Greater China.



comments powered by Disqus