Kata Rocks
The Phuket News Novosti Phuket Khao Phuket

Login | Create Account | Search

Laguna wins inaugural Outrigger T20 title

Laguna wins inaugural Outrigger T20 title

CRICKET: Laguna added more silverware to their collection after they took care of Island Cricket Club in the first Outrigger T20 Finals at the Alan Cooke Ground in northern Phuket this past weekend.

Tuesday 9 October 2012, 09:31AM

The inaugural Outrigger T20 League has delivered many close matched encounters and the cup final was no exception. Laguna’s Neil Culpan set the scoring pace from the start and in the process notched up 50 off 44 balls before being caught short of his ground.

ICC, though some accurate bowling, kep the rest of the Laguna line at bay. After 20 overs, Laguna had posted a respectable score of 145/6.

Island Cricket had secured their finals berth through solid batting performances. Although a confident Imityaz Mushtaq was scoring freely, his team mates were less nimble between the wickets. Mr Mushtaq, 61, played a vital role for ICC.

The match’s outcome was still in doubt at the final over.

Laguna showed the composure of champions and secured the win with ICC falling 5 runs short of victory scoring 139/5.


Neil Culpan was named Bowler of the Series and Anand Chand won Batsman of the Series honors.

In the third place match, Patong defeated The Village in a low scoring affair. The Village were first at bat but only managed to score 87 runs with Craig Murphy leading the way. A united effort by Patong kept the scoring at bay with spin bowlers Dave Thomas going two for six and Thai youngster Jay Letingoo going two for nine. Richard Desmond contributed a fiery spell of one for 13.

The 40 over league will commence on November 18. Anyone interested in joining a team or entering a full team please contact Martin Foster at clubaffairs@phuketcricketgroup.com.

The PCG Open event will be at the Alan Cooke Ground on November 4, Starting at 9 am. It will include events and matches. For more information visit Phuketcricketgroup.com.

comments powered by Disqus